rockandroll.dalalsanuanaracordalanim.info

excellent words know one more decision Earlier..

Menu

Category: DEFAULT

If You Give To Me - Barrington Levy - Englishman

05.02.2020 Shalabar 10 Comments

Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 September Wednesday 11 September Thursday 12 September Friday 13 September Saturday 14 September Sunday 15 September Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 September Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 September Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October Wednesday 2 October Thursday 3 October Friday 4 October Saturday 5 October Sunday 6 October Monday 7 October Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Friday 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November This blog is for reviews of albums and compilations on CD maybe the odd piece of vinyl too The packaging is minimal to say the least, with absolutely no sleeve notes or information beyond band credits, and looking like it was badly photocopied, but the sound quality of the CD is fine far better than many , and the value for money of the package cannot be faulted.

Greensleeves has apparently reissued "Englishman" again as a CD to itself with some bonus tracks, so this 2-for-1 issue may now have been deleted.

Both albums, however, showcase a typically Levy mixture of roots and lovers material in a pre-digital dancehall style, and as such fit almost seamlessly together. The mood soon changes to one of roots determination, however, with "Look Youthman" with its tougher, semi-steppers riddim and righteous lyrics warning the youths while exalting the Creator.

However, the real roots highlight of the album is the haunting "Send A Moses", with Barrington's trademark yearning vocal stretched out over a slow, plaintive riddim to powerful and moving effect, offset nicely by bluesy guitar and echoing cymbals. A powerful, staccato horn riff and inspired, echoing mixing by Scientist lift this tune easily into the ranks of the undisputed classic. The rest of the "Robin Hood" album shares the horns which are unfortunately absent from "Englishman" , but fails to reach the same heights of lyrics or arrangements, being dominated by lovers tunes; however, Barrington's varied and inventive lyrics manage to lift such material above the banality of much of its kind, and the riddims are nice throughout.

Overall, while lyrically this is a very mixed bag, the mood of the whole CD is cohesive, tho nothing else on it reaches quite the killer status of "Robin Hood". The latter album is noticeably more impressively mixed than the earlier, showing the development of Junjo's and the Roots Radics' sound, but both nicely capture the period when roots was transforming into early dancehall.

Watch the video for If You Give To Me from Barrington Levy's Englishman for free, and see the artwork, lyrics and similar artists.

10 thought on “If You Give To Me - Barrington Levy - Englishman ”

  1. Vojora says:
    If You Give To Me Lyrics: If you give to me / A ruby with diamond / If you give to me / A house filled with gold / If you build me a chapel baby / Out of some gold / It doesn't mean a thing / Not.
  2. Jujar says:
    Jun 24,  · Barrington Levy - Englishman/Robin Hood Barrington Levy "If You Give To Me" and "Sister Carol" are nice but unremarkable lovers tunes which likewise have that warm, organic Radics rub-a-dub feel, while "Don't Fuss Nor Fight" is a plea for non-violence in the dance which is also a deeply laid-back celebration of "sweet reggae music, what the.
  3. Dogrel says:
    Englishman album lyrics by Barrington Levy. Full discography of Barrington Levy. [ Main ] [ Artists list ] [ Charts ] [ Genres ] [ Last added lyrics ] [ Artist/Group Album Song Song lyrics Advanced Search ].
  4. Voodoogis says:
    Black Heart Man Lyrics: Dreadlocks man / Black Heart man / Long time ago, when my eyes was at my knees / If I see a rasta man, I just got to be free / Everywhere I go, my mommy had to know.
  5. Tagis says:
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Englishman on Discogs/5(47).
  6. Dijora says:
    Barrington Levy - Many Changes in Life Lyrics. There are many changes in life Changes in every little thing Every little thing, yeah yes When mi was a youth I used to spend 50 cent inna.
  7. Akinora says:
    Feb 01,  · Englishman is an album by Jamaican dancehall musician Barrington Levy, released in A relaxed, sultry album, Englishman was one of Levy's most popular albums, especially outside of Jamaica. The Roots Radics provided the rhythm tracks. Description provided by Wikipedia under Creative Commons Attribution CC-BY-SA /5(4).
  8. Shakagis says:
    Englishman If You Give To Me Sister Carol Don't Fuss Nor Fight Look Girl Look Yourthman Send A Moses Barrington Levy - Give You Everything Barrington Levy - My Black Princess Barrington Levy - Dreadlocks Child By Anonymous on The Barrington Levy Collection.
  9. Kebar says:
    Sep 23,  · 1 Englishman Barrington Levy ; 2 If You Give to Me Barrington Levy ; 3 Sister Carol Barrington Levy ; 4 Don't Fuss nor Fight Barrington Levy ; 5 Look Girl Barrington Levy ; 6 Look Youthman Barrington Levy ; 7 Send a Moses Barrington Levy ; 8 Black Heart Man Barrington Levy ; 9 Money Makes Friends Barrington Levy Released on: September 23,
  10. Mukinos says:
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Englishman on Discogs/5(13).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Education WordPress Theme By Logical Themes